Big Butts and Khaki Pants  

Why do khaki pants even exist? 

I can remember having this pair when I was 17 and believe me, I thought I looked soooooo cute. Okay, this was 2006 and I wore them with bright Old Navy flip flops and a pink t-shirt (it always had to be pink) so please, no judgement! Anyways, they had a high rise (before high rise was “cool”) waist and I thought that they made me look like I had a flat tummy. Of course, back then I had a semi flat (while still flabby, duh) tummy so maybe it wasn’t all in my head. I tended to do that with my pants and skirts. 

Oh, remember the styles of the early 2000’s! 

Anyways, back then I never thought I’d have to stuff my jelly into them for work – with a belt and polo tucked in! The horror! 

Okay, maybe not horror, but pretty darn close! I mean, who actually thinks it looks good? Especially for a woman with some serious junk in the trunk and a tummy to match? 

I mean, I’m sure I could work it to make myself like the pasty white version (and a plus sized one!) of Beyoncé. 

Okay, who am I kidding, that is a fantasy that slipped out of la la land. I’ll never look anything close to Beyoncé. *tears of mirth* 

Anyways, putting a pair of khakis on and tucking a shirt in pretty much paints a bullseye on my butt that says, “look! I’m huge!” 

And not in a good way either. 

So what’s a girl to do? Cry? Freak because once again someone thinks something will look and it doesn’t? Be upset because once again it will be clear that I’m larger than the other women? 

Heck. No. 

I’ll keep my head up and pretend that I look like a million bucks. Confidence makes up for a lot. It may not make someone think I’m a size 5, but they’ll think I’m perfectly happy. 

And you know what? I am. 

I fought tooth and nail to get to a place where I can look in the mirror and be happy with myself. I refuse to let something like khaki pants make me upset. 

In the fight for happiness you’ll have obstacles to overcome all of the time. Honestly, it won’t ever end and that’s not just for plus size women. Everyone has their own fight. 

But I’m here to tell you that it’s worth it. Whatever fight you’re fighting, it’s worth it. Maybe your fight isn’t with khaki pants. Maybe it’s with your school, your parents, your friends, or even yourself. Whatever it is, know it’s not forever and one day you’ll look back and see that mountain you thought your were climbing was actually an ant hill. 

Or maybe it really is a mountain and you can look back and say that you kicked it’s butt. 

It’s so worth it to be happy, and you know what? I can finally say I’m happy. 

I’ll leave you with a picture of me, in my 2007 fashion, just so you can get the idea. 

Oh yeah. 


Leave a Reply

