OCD and Me

Let’s face it, the term OCD has become mainstream. You like you money a certain way? OCD! You like to brush your hair 100 times? OCD! Now, I’m not saying that those aren’t OCD tendencies and of course I’m not a psychologist (though I use to want to be one. All those classes gone to waste. Le sigh) so I couldn’t tell you what the difference between being quirky and actual Obsessive Compulsive Disorder is. 

However, I can tell you about my struggles with OCD. 

I do some funny things, like I lock the door a certain way while thinking of a tune I made up. I chant things while making sure I armed the door at work. 

I know it looks funny. I laugh at myself sometimes. 

But there’s a whole other side that isn’t quite as funny. 

Sometimes I have to drive back to work to double check that I armed the door – even after my little ritual. I’ve gotten up in the middle of the night to check the door again because I get a mental picture of someone breaking in and murdering my whole family. 

Yeah, it’s not all funny. 

Thankfully most of the time I can control the obsessions and I’d say most people living with OCD have learned to do the same. Some people may need medicine. Some may need therapy. For me, I find that talking about it to people who understand helps the most. 

And of course, talking to God about it above all else. 

Everyone is different and handles their challenges differently. There isn’t one right way to deal with OCD or any other issue we may be having. We’re so quick to want people to pop a pill and get over it, but it’s just not that simple. 

You have to do what’s right for you, regardless of what others may say. Maybe therapy works great for them, but maybe for you it’s useless. Maybe others deal with it on their own, but you find that doctors and medicine help you best. No matter how you cope, never be ashamed. Medicine isn’t shameful, just as therapy isn’t. Dealing with it on your own isn’t something to hide either. 

Surprisingly, more people struggle than you may think. 

And for me? That’s the most comforting thing. 

Because I’m not alone. 

Leave a Reply

