I Have Tattoos (That I Regret)

Roughly 14% (around 45 million) people in the USA have tattoos. And yes, that totally came from Google. 

And yes, I have a hard time believing that only 14% of the American population have tattoos. 

But I am one of those Americans. 

I have seven tattoos in total and I got them between the ages of 18 and 24. They occupy my back, both of my feet, and my right wrist. Thankfully, they were all professionally done in a tattoo shop. I’ll be honest, sometimes I even forget I have them on my back until I catch my reflection in the mirror. 

I regret six of them and have a love/hate relationship with the seventh. 

Now, I don’t hate them to the point of wanting to get them removed, but they remind me of a different time in my life. I look at the deathbat on my left foot and remember the place that I was in when I was obsessed with Avenged Sevenfold. I see the clover on my spine with 3 initials in it and remember the friends I had in middle school through my early twenties. 

That also reminds me that we no longer speak.

I see the word Hope on my right foot and remember the friends I had that would later dump me because I began dating a guy they didn’t like. 

I could go on and on. 

Tattoos are prement reminders. Sometimes of good things and sometimes of bad things. 

We are also ever changing creatures and something that we liked at age 22 might not be what we like at age 27. 

Now, I’m not saying tattoos are bad or that they’re a bad idea to get. What I’m saying is even if it’s something you absolutely love right now, you may end up later hating it. You might regret having to wear a thick bracelet to work everyday because you have a tattoo on your wrist. 

We always tend to hear the extreme views on tattoos; people advocating for them or fully against them. 

But we don’t tend to hear the middle ground. We don’t hear from those who love tattoos, but hate their own. Or from those who just no longer want them on their own body and think they look great on others. 

Or those that love tattoos but just can’t bring themselves to get one. 

Tattoos can be works of art. They can be absolutely beautiful. They can hold special meaning. 

I just personally regret mine. 

And I’m just so glad I never got the half sleeve I wanted. 

Anyone else out there regret theirs? Or anyone else absolutely love theirs?

Let me know!

2 thoughts on “I Have Tattoos (That I Regret)

  1. I regret none of mine, 10 at the moment, as every one has some sort of meaning. And I’m proud of my ink. There are many artists out there who specialize in cover ups. Design, or come up with something that is special to you and talk with an artist. Make it yours. It may have been for someone else in the past, but that was the past. This is now. Own it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like them on other people, but I would never get one, precisely for those reasons you mentioned. What if I end up hating them? What if their context changes? What if they get a whole new meaning that I won’t be happy with?
    Which is why when I want to rock a tattoo for a night out, I draw it on with eyeliner and spray some hairspray over it to keep it in place 🙂
    But I like seeing them on others, especially when they’re true works of art 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

