Dear High School Girl,

It’s a start of a new school year, and if you’re anything like I use to be, then you see it as a chance at a new you. 

Now, I could spend this time telling you that you’re perfect the way you are and to just be you. 

And you should!

But I completely understand how you feel. Honestly, even as a 27 year old woman, I find myself finding ways to make myself better. 

Eat better, exercise more, sleep more, dress better, etc. 

There’s nothing wrong with wanting to better yourself, but what is wrong is the idea that you can only be happy once you change. 

No amount of weight lost, no amount of in style clothes, no boyfriend, and no job will make you happy if you’re not already happy with yourself. 

I know it’s hard, especially during the teen years. You’re stuck not wanting to be a child, but not yet being an adult. You go to school with girls who seem to have everything and you feel stuck trying to be who you think you need to be.

But here’s the secret…..

Just be you and learn to be happy with where you’re at, at this very moment. Love yourself as you are right now, and that will make any goal reached that must better. 

I can tell you from experience, even when I was smaller, had a boyfriend, and had a bunch of friends I still wasn’t truly happy. 

I always felt like I needed to be smaller, needed to hang out all the time, or whatever else my mind told me I needed. I was always miserable deep down and it allowed me to keep making bad decisions and staying with the wrong guys. 

Now? 

I’m bigger, no boyfriend, and my best friend moved to Wyoming. 

But I’m happy. 

I’m happy because I learned to love myself as I am. 

It’s a hard journey and there will always be times that you find yourself wishing for something else, but at the end of the day you can put all those feelings away. How? By loving yourself and knowing you worth more than the voices in your head tell you. 

I wish I could give you a magic formula to happiness, but it doesn’t exist. All I can say is you’re worth being happy. One day you’ll look back and wonder why you stressed so much. 

Enjoy your youth. Enjoy being young. 

It all truly does work out in the end. 

So I wish you a great school year!


Leave a Reply

