Going Dairy Free!

Let’s just be blunt here; there’s nothing cute about a dairy intolerance. Gas, bloating, stomach pains, horrible bowl movements. Yeah, nothing pretty. 

I had been experiencing all the above for several months before I ever took to the internet to try and figure out what was wrong. We all know our bodies pretty well, and normally we can figure out when something isn’t right. 

And I knew something wasn’t right or normal. 

So I googled foods that would cause severe bloating and after some research I came across dairy ( or lactose) intolerance. It was the only food that I regularly consumed, so I thought I’d give it a try. 

Y’all, my life changed! Horrible bloating went away, I felt better all over, horrible life interrupting stomach aches went away. I couldn’t help but wonder why it took me so long to figure it out. 

Oh, but then came the hard part, because I love cheese, chocolate, biscuits, gravy ( I’m southern, y’all, and we LOVE our gravy. And in case you didn’t know, gravy is made with sausage grease, flour, milk, salt, and pepper – yeah ), cake, muffins, cookies, doughnuts- the list could go on and on. I’ve actually lost weight because there is such a limited amount of foods I can consume. I’ve given up Pepridge Farm’s goldfish cracker! 😱 And those were my absolute favorite!

Of course, there are times I do consume dairy- and let me tell you, I always regret it. I ate a bunch over the weekend (my sis made a keylime dump cake, so good) and I’ve been paying for it. I felt like crap, my stomach hurts, and I have no energy. 

So why am I writing this? Because roughly 25% of Americans cannot process lactose normally. http://www.pcrm.org/health/diets/vegdiets/what-is-lactose-intolerance

I want to share my new lifestyle with others who may be suffering like I use to. I plan on sharing dairy-free recipes that I learn ( dairy free sweet cornbread coming soon! ). 

Let me know if anyone else struggles as well, I’d love to hear from everyone! 
Until next time! 

Leave a Reply

