For when your praying knees get week – 1

Oh Mondays. So full of rushing around to get back into the swing of things (especially after a holiday weekend!), sleep deprivation, and caffeine. We’re much more likely to be on edge and we look at the week ahead and bemoan how long it is until Friday. 

For this Monday I had a completely different blog post planned. I wanted to talk about starting each week fresh and making the most out of life, but I feel there is something much more important – or prevalent – that needs to be said. It’s something that I deal with a lot and I feel it’s a huge reason for people leaving or never coming to the Christian faith – hypocrites. 

The people who profess such godliness and faith, but who’s actions speak more about promoting themselves than Christ. It’s all about how they can change people. About how important they are. They want people to come to them, not because they feel God speaking and moving through them, but because they love how important it makes them feel. 

Of course, there are the ones who may cuss, become drunk, have premarital sex, etc. But those may lead people to believe that those sins are okay – because we are forgiven. And we are! But we must make an effort each and every day to turn from sin. All sin. 

It’s hard to read or listen to a person preach when you know that their heart isn’t in the right place. It’s hard to believe that anything they say may have any truth. 

But it can. And that’s what makes it all the much harder. Can God work though a selfish, self serving person? I believe he can. God can work though anybody. God is the great I Am. He can do anything. And that’s part of what’s so frustrating. Who wants to listen to a man or woman preach and take it in what they have to say when their life contradicts their words? 

It’s hard enough for someone who knows Christ to do, but imagine how hard it would be for someone who isn’t saved? Someone who knows nothing of Christ? 

I truly believe that a huge part of why so many people embrace atheism is because of hypocritical christians. Instead of pulling people to Christ, we’re pushing them away! We’re showing them everything but love, we judge then because of their sin and never acknowledge our own, and we put ourself up in a pedestal. 

I personally know a man struggling with his faith. He believes there is a God, but for whatever reason, he hates Him. All these “christians” on tv and in the news only push him farther away. I see God chasing him plain as day, but because of whatever happened in his past and because of people in the world today, he keeps running. 

How many people in your life are doing the same thing? Are you? 

I’m not perfect. I’m far from it. I’m nothing special or extraordinary. But I love Christ with my whole heart. I’ve been blessed with salvation and given so much peace in my life. 

And I want everyone to have and feel the same. I want us all to come together in Christ. I want us to move. I want to see people moved to tears from the power of God. From his love and grace. We all need to take a good look at ourselves and see if we are representing Christ the way we should be. 

Remember – the way we live may be the only bible someone ever reads. 

Leave a Reply

